Bar

Gluten-Free Beverages

 
 
Liquors

Labelling Overview

In Canada, there are regulations to help celiac patients make safe choices when consuming alcoholic beverages. Manufacturers must state that gluten is present on a product label in one of the following ways [1]:

1. Stating that gluten is present within a "contains" statement

2. Declaring gluten is present within the ingredient list if it is provided

Any added allergens, sulphites, and sources of gluten must also be declared if present in an alcoholic beverage at a level of 10 ppm or more [2]. 

Fruity Cocktail

Resources

Follow the Canadian Celiac Association (CCA) recommendations on safely choosing gluten-free alcoholic beverages.

 

 

 

 

Having trouble finding gluten-free brands of alcohol? Check out this list of gluten-free alcoholic beverages.

References

1. Health Canada [2020]. Labelling requirements for alcoholic beverages https://www.inspection.gc.ca/food-label-requirements/labelling/industry/alcohol/eng/1392909001375/1392909133296?chap=0#s33c15

2. Health Canada [2020]. Food allergens, gluten and added sulphite labelling – Alcoholic beverages https://www.inspection.gc.ca/food-label-requirements/labelling/industry/alcohol/eng/1392909001375/1392909133296?chap=4